• Print this Page
  • Share

NEO Press Releases


The small business division team known as "Dairy Ranch 66" from Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College (NEO), received third place at the 2013 Donald W. Reynolds Governor’s Cup competition in Oklahoma City on April 12th and 13th

NEO’s small business division was awarded $4,000 for their third place finish.

This is the second year NEO has competed in the Donald W. Reynolds Governor’s Cup competition, as well as the second year for the competition to include a small business division.

“I was thrilled to have had the opportunity to personally watch the NEO Governor’s Cup Team bring home the third place award at this year’s event in Oklahoma City,” said Dr. Jeff Hale, NEO president. “NEO was the only traditional junior college that was recognized for their creative business plan work. I think this achievement is symbolic of the great teaching and learning that continues to take place in our business and technology department.”

The Governor’s Cup is a state-wide competition that engages students in a “real world” simulation of gathering data, researching facts, and building a business plan. 

The competition was judged by business professionals from around the state. Small business division entrants were limited to teams from Oklahoma’s two-year, regional or private universities who could write a business plan on any unique or innovative concept.

“This competition put our students in a position to develop a concept from start to finish. They gained experience in developing an idea, researching that idea, writing a business plan, and presenting to actual investors who evaluated their plan to decide if the idea would really work,” said Brenda Lucas, faculty advisor. “This type of ‘real world’ experience will prepare our graduates for any career they choose.”

Team members included: Kyla Guinn, a sophomore majoring in business administration, Kongmeng Xiong, a sophomore majoring in computer science, and David Stephens, a sophomore majoring in business administration.


Dr. Jeff Hale, NEO A&M College president, Dr. Bethene Fahnestock, vice president of academic affairs, and Pat Creech, chairwoman of the business and technology dept., helped make all of this possible by creating the class for these students.

“We are so proud of the extraordinary efforts of our students and Ms. Lucas,” Creech said. “To place third in this competition against much larger schools is indeed an accomplishment.”

President’s Partners sponsored the team by helping with travel expenses. Sonic Corporation provided table sponsorship for the awards dinner.


(from left) Dr. Ken Miller, State Treasurer of Oklahoma; Kyla Guinn, sophomore from Claremore; Brenda Lucas, faculty advisor; David Stephens, sophomore from Vinita; and Kongmeng Xiong, sophomore from Fairland

Posted in: Community
Actions: E-mail | Permalink |