fbpx Skip to Content
Skip announcement-panel
Summer Hours

NEO is open 7am – 5pm, Monday – Thursday, closed Friday.

announcement panel close button
Skip to main content


Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College agricultural instructor Alisen Anderson was named a Master Agronomist by Oklahoma State University’s Department of Plant and Soil Science.

The Master Agronomist Award is for individuals actively participating in agronomic efforts and contributing valuable public service due to their unique soil management and crop production efforts.

“This is an honor of a lifetime, and I am so grateful to be able to contribute to Oklahoma agriculture,” said Anderson. “Oklahoma State and NEO have taught me countless ways to give back to an industry that feeds, fuels, and clothes the world.”

Anderson attended NEO from 2007 to 2009. She began working as an academic advisor in 2012 and was hired in the agriculture department in 2013. Anderson teaches plant science, soil science and agricultural leadership. While at NEO, she implemented a research farm of five field plots and 22 acres and acquired a National Institute of Food and Agriculture grant to build a greenhouse.

Anderson said, “When I attended NEO as a student, I fell in love with the servant leadership aspect of the faculty and staff and wanted to do the same in a professional role. I am blessed beyond measure to do two of my greatest passions at once.”

The farm and greenhouse have hosted more than 100 class and honors projects and field day events. The research farm has grown soybeans, corn, winter wheat and sunflowers in partnership with OSU and local producers as Anderson teaches students about germination, emergence, weed and pest control.

Anderson thanked the NEO Crop Committee. Zach Rendel, Jake Tynon, Twin River Farms, Chock Scammon, Deven Foster, and Greg Leonard.

Anderson and her husband, Jared, farm corn, wheat and soybeans and operate a ranch with 500 commercial cattle in Ottawa County. They have three children and are active in the Young Farmers and Ranchers group at the state and national levels. 

For more information, please contact NEO Agriculture department chair Mary Booth at mary.booth@neo.edu or 918-540-6998.

Back to top