Skip to Content
Skip to main content

Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College (NEO) is pleased to announce that Akii Smith has been nominated for the National Football Foundation Jim Thorpe College Player of the Year. Smith was selected from a state-wide pool of highly qualified applicants. Smith will be formally recognized at the 29th Annual Scholar-Athlete Awards Banquet on Thursday, June 6, 2013 at the Jim Thorpe Museum and Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame (4040 N. Lincoln Blvd., Oklahoma City, OK 73105) The awards banquet will start promptly at 7 p.m.

The Thorpe Award is named after history’s greatest athlete, Jim Thorpe, and is presented by the Jim Thorpe Association in Oklahoma City. It is perceived as one of the nation’s top collegiate sports honors. Winners are judged on their performance on the field, athletic ability, and character. For further information, feel free to contact Patti Millican at (405) 427-1400 Ext. 314, or email

Back to top