fbpx Skip to Content
Skip announcement-panel
Summer Hours

NEO is open 7am – 5pm, Monday – Thursday, closed Friday.

announcement panel close button
Skip to main content


Preceding the 2018 midterm elections, the Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College (NEO) Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa and the NEO Honors Psychology class partnered to register students and community members to vote. Overall, NEO newly registered 9.8% of its student body and earned second place in the “Liberty” Category (institutions with 1,501 – 3,000 full-time equivalent enrollment students) of the statewide Oklahoma Campus Compact’s (OkCC) annual Voter Registration Contest.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Voter-Registration-Award.jpg

Sophomore Albana Baftiri and PTK Sponsor LaShawna Powers accepted the award on behalf of NEO. Baftiri is a natural science major from Miami and a member of both PTK and the Honors Program.

“Statistics show that students who register to vote are more likely to go out to vote and thus establish the habit of voting as a result,” said Baftiri. “It means so much to us that NEO received this award. We wanted to get through to young voters that every vote counts. And we did just that and more!”

During the OkCC Voter Registration Contest, a total of 3,244 students at 21 institutions registered to vote. These new voters were part of the 16% increase in voter turnout over the 2014 midterm elections. State Regents recognized the eight winners on Dec. 6, in Oklahoma City.

Powers, a history instructor at NEO, serves as the PTK sponsor and the NEO Honors Psychology class was led by Instructor Dr. Lesli Deichman and Honors Program Assistant Director Keeley Adams. For more information about these programs and the Voter Registration Contest, contact Jordan Adams at Jordan.m.adams@neo.edu.

(Photo: State Regent Jay Helm; Phi Theta Kappa sponsor LaShawna Powers; NEO student Albana Baftiri; and Chancellor Glen D. Johnson.)

Back to top