fbpx Skip to Content
Skip announcement-panel
Summer Hours

NEO is open 7am – 5pm, Monday – Thursday, closed Friday.

announcement panel close button
Skip to main content


Miami, Oklahoma — Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College sophomore Madilynn Campbell was selected as a recipient of the 2024 Chancellor Glen D. Johnson Scholarship in Leadership and Public Service by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education.

MadilynnCampbellScholarship copy
Photo: NEO President Dr. Kyle J. Stafford with NEO sophomore Madilynn Campbell, recipient of the inaugural 2024 Chancellor Glen D. Johnson Scholarship in Leadership and Public Service.

Campbell, from Big Cabin, OK, is a pre-veterinary science major and a member of the NEO Horse Judging team. Campbell and her family breed their own horses, and she actively assists an equine veterinarian in the area.

“The Chancellor Glen D. Johnson Scholarship in Leadership and Public Service will help financially pave the way for my long journey of becoming a veterinarian,” said Campbell. “Time that would be spent worrying about the financial burden of college can now be spent prioritizing my time towards my education, being a leader in various clubs that I am involved in, and helping give back to the community. I am incredibly grateful to be chosen for such a competitive scholarship.”

The Chancellor Glen D. Johnson Scholarship in Leadership and Public Service honors Chancellor Johnson’s commitment to increasing the number of college graduates in Oklahoma to meet the state’s current and future workforce needs in today’s knowledge-based global economy.

“It was my privilege to represent Oklahoma at the state and national level as chancellor of the state system of higher education from 2007 until 2021,” said Chancellor Emeritus Glen D. Johnson. “Public service has always been my life’s goal, and I am deeply honored to recognize the first cohort of students to receive this scholarship, which celebrates their dedication to civic engagement, advocacy and leadership.”

To qualify for the scholarship, students are required to be an Oklahoma resident enrolled full-time at a public institution within the Oklahoma State System of Higher Education, be in good academic standing with a minimum GPA of 3.0 at the time of nomination, have completed at least 30 hours of college coursework or credits, and be classified as a sophomore, junior, or senior for the academic year in which the scholarship will be received.

Only two students attending Oklahoma’s public two-year colleges are recipients each year. Recipients are selected based on leadership experience, demonstrated interest in public service, community engagement and civic participation, a short essay on the importance and value of public service, and a letter of recommendation from an individual who can attest to the student’s leadership potential and commitment to public service.

“The State Regents are proud to recognize exceptional students with the Chancellor Glen D. Johnson Scholarship in Leadership and Public Service,” said Chancellor Allison D. Garrett. “Each recipient is an inspirational leader with a clear commitment to serving others and making a difference in their communities. We wish them well in their academic and career pursuits.”

For more information, contact NEO Executive Assistant to the President Kendra Cummins at kendra.cummins@neo.edu or 918-540-6201.

Back to top