fbpx Skip to Content
Skip announcement-panel
Summer Hours

NEO is open 7am – 5pm, Monday – Thursday, closed Friday.

announcement panel close button
Skip to main content


Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College will induct the 1989 baseball team into the Athletic Hall of Fame on September 23 at 11am in the Calcagno Family Ballroom.

The 1989 Golden Norsemen Baseball team, led by head coach Bill Mayberry, captured the National Junior College Athletic Association Region II Championship by defeating Western Oklahoma State College in the finals, advancing the team to the Central District Tournament. In the district finals, NEO overcame a ninth inning deficit to defeat Meramec College, qualifying them for the Junior College World Series in Grand Junction, Colorado.

The Norsemen had a 3-2 victory against Cochise College, advancing them to the national championship game. The team would fall in the finals, finishing the season as the National Runner-Up, with an overall record of 65-20, establishing a school record for most wins in a single season.

The five Norsemen selected to the World Series All-Tournament Team were Chris Benhardt, Greg Blevins, George Day, Brad Dolejsi, and Jamie Williams. Coaches included head coach Bill Mayberry and assistant coach Richie Fretwell.

For more information, please contact interim director of alumni and development Eric Iverson at eiverson@neo.edu.

Back to top