fbpx Skip to Content
Skip to main content


Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College (NEO) will induct eight individuals and one team into the NEO Athletic Hall of Fame at a ceremony on Saturday, September 15, 2018. Included among the honorees is the 1986 NJCAA Championship Football Team. Establishing a perfect 11-0 school record during the 1986 football season, Head Coach Glen Wolfe guided the Golden Norse to an unprecedented 7th National Football Championship. The Norsemen finished the undefeated 1986 season with a 38-7 victory over Montgomery, Maryland, in the Mid-America Bowl in Tulsa. The Norse were led by All-Americans Mark Rice, John Boisvert, Tom Bolyard, and Steve Hill. Assistant Coaches were Mack Butler, Dale Patterson, Don Hendrix, Bruce Scott, Greg Wolfe, Willie Webster, Rod Mathewson, and Terry Jamison.

The induction ceremony for the team and the other honorees will take place at 12:30 p.m. in the Calcagno Family Ballroom in the Bruce G. Carter Student Union before the evening’s football game. Following the ceremony, the NEO Golden Norsemen football team will play against rivals Trinity Valley. Kickoff will be at 6 p.m. Tickets for the event are on sale now. “The Hall of Fame is a legacy that we are very proud of at NEO and to have it in conjunction with the NEO vs. Trinity Valley game will make for a great day of NEO Athletics,” said Joe Renfro, interim athletic director. “We hope everyone will come out and support the event and the Norsemen.” For more information about the NEO Athletic Hall of Fame, contact Nancy Roberts at nancy.roberts@neo.edu or call (918) 540-6327.

Back to top