fbpx Skip to Content
Skip announcement-panel
Summer Hours

NEO is open 7am – 5pm, Monday – Thursday, closed Friday.

announcement panel close button
Skip to main content


For the tenth consecutive year, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College (NEO) will induct its Top-Ten Freshmen class. The ceremony will take place on Monday, March 25, at 4 p.m. in the Calcagno Family Ballroom, during NEO Centennial Week. Along with the induction of the new class, the event will serve as a ten-year Top Ten Freshmen reunion.

Delivering the keynote address will be Admiral Jeff Trussler. Originally from Miami, Okla., and an NEO alumnus, Admiral Trussler currently serves as the director of future plans based out of the Pentagon. After NEO, Admiral Trussler earned a Bachelor’s degree from Oklahoma State University and he would later receive a Master’s degree from the University of Oklahoma. Admiral Trussler has served in a variety of capacities aboard some of the most technologically advanced submarines in the world and was the commander onboard the USS Maryland before his selection as commander to Task Force 69 for the U.S. 6th Fleet in Naples, Italy. Trussler’s first flag assignment was as commander of the Undersea Warfighting Development Center (UWDC) where he was responsible for training, assessment, tactical development and analysis of Undersea Warfare capabilities. In his current position, Admiral Trussler is tasked with developing the Navy of the future by coordinating long-range strategic planning.

Students are selected as Top Ten Freshmen by a panel of judges, this year including Foundation Board Member Tommy Dodson, NEO Science Instructor Jessica Robinson, and NEO Nursing Instructor Sidney Morgan. Ten sophomore students are selected for their academic performance as freshmen and their community engagement.

This year’s honorees include Gavin Bohn from Columbus, Kan., Eli Chenoweth from Miami, Okla., AnElizabeth Henry from Riverton, Kan., Hannah Jenkins from Ozark, Mo., Kyle Lukasiewicz from Centennial, Colo., Amber Oerly from Boonville, Mo., Robbie Phillips from Coweta, Okla., Tyler Silva from Cambridge, Ontario, Canada,  Reghan Trease from Commerce, Okla., and Dulcinea Wenzel from Miami, Okla.

For more information about the NEO Top Ten Freshmen Ceremony, contact Rachel Lloyd at rlloyd@neo.edu.

Back to top