fbpx Skip to Content
Skip to main content


Members of the Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College (NEO) Rodeo Team recently placed at the International Professional Rodeo Association (IPRA) International Finals Rodeo (IFR) in Guthrie, Okla., with Addee Carder, a senior in the NEO/OSU Pathways Program, winning first in the average among breakaway ropers and collecting nearly $6,000 in prize money. A native of Miami, Okla., Carder ended the circuit fifth in the world among breakaway ropers. With National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association (NIRA) rodeos postponed or canceled in the fall semester, many NEO riders competed as individuals on circuits like the IPRA. The IPRA International Finals Rodeo took place on Jan. 15 – 17. Bronaugh, Mo., Sophomore Mason Couch also earned nearly $3,000 by placing fourth in the average for steer wrestling. His finished earned him the rank of ninth in the world among steer wrestlers on the IFR circuit.

Joining Carder and Couch were the team roping pair of Sophomore Mason Passmore and Sophomore Brent Mibb. Their performance put them at eleventh in the world among team ropers. “I’m very proud of the way all of these riders competed at this event against some of the best pro rodeo athletes across the nation,” said Kolby Ungeheuer, NEO rodeo coach. “Just qualifying shows their commitment to excellence and achieving at the highest level, while still being a collegiate athlete. I’m looking forward to them competing for NEO at our college events starting this spring, and hopefully getting them to qualified for the College National Finals in June. I’m very fortunate to have these top rodeo athletes on this year’s NEO Rodeo Team!”

The NEO Rodeo Team will begin its lightning season on Feb. 18, with the Northwestern Oklahoma State University rodeo in Alva, Okla. This will kick off a nine-rodeo journey to the College National Finals Rodeo in June. For more information about rode at NEO, contact Ungeheuer at Kolby.Ungeheuer@neo.edu. (Top photo: Addee Carder earns first in breakaway roping. Bottom photo: Mason Passmore, Brent Mibb, Addee Carder, Mason Couch.)


Back to top