fbpx Skip to Content
Skip announcement-panel
Summer Hours

NEO is open 7am – 5pm, Monday – Thursday, closed Friday.

announcement panel close button
Skip to main content


The Office of Student Affairs at Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College (NEO) recently hosted a reception where faculty and staff were recognized and the 2015 campus beautification project was unveiled: a centennial marker for the Bruce G. Carter Student Union. The event closed with the introduction of the 2015-16 Student Body Government (SBG) officer team. SBG developed an outstanding faculty and staff award that is presented at the end of the spring semester each year. One award is given to the outstanding faculty member for each school and an outstanding staff member overall. The students were given the opportunity to vote through an online ballot for their top choices.

The winners are listed below:

• Steve Dixon – School of Agriculture and Natural Science • Deborah Seigel – School of Human Environmental Science • Cheryl Butler – School of Liberal Arts • Deenia Engelbrecht – Financial Aid Office

“This is an annual event that was started five years ago to show our appreciation to the students who serve on student government and introduce the incoming student government leaders,” said Amy Ishmael, vice president of student affairs and enrollment management. “This is also an opportunity for student government to recognize outstanding faculty and staff for their everyday contributions to the campus.” SBG officers serve many roles on and off campus. Some include planning certain school projects, and others include listening to the students’ to see what needs to happen on campus. Each year the officers sponsor a campus beautification project.

The following individuals make up the new officer team:

Chaney Scott, president – Scott hails from Anderson, Missouri. She is a general agriculture major with an agriculture education option. Not only is Scott involved in SBG, she is also a member of the horse judging team, equine club and agriculture education club.

Daniel Hocker, vice president – Hocker is an Oklahoma native and a graduate of Grove High School. He is a sports management major. In addition to SBG, he is an active part of the business department and the business club Phi Beta Lambda (PBL). Hocker is a member of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society and has been employed at NEO through the Wellness Center. After graduating from NEO, he plans on transferring to Missouri Southern to major in kinesiology.

Jocie Miser, secretary – Miser comes to NEO from Emporia, Kansas. She is a pre-medical major and plans on transferring to South Western Oklahoma State University after graduating from NEO. She is actively involved in PTK and is a student athlete on the NEO rodeo team.

Kolton Kitterman, senator – Kitterman is from Oologah, Oklahoma and is a natural science major. Kitterman is involved in PTK, Student Ambassadors, Native American Student Association (NASA), a member of the cheer team and works for student activities. After graduating he plans on transferring to a major university and majoring in kinesiology.

Katelin Hyman, senator – Hyman hails from Fouke, Arkansas. She is an agriculture business major. Hyman is a competitive member of the livestock judging team in addition to her officer responsibilities. After graduating from NEO, she plans on transferring to a university and continuing her studies in agriculture and eventually obtaining her master’s degree in agriculture.

Back to top