fbpx Skip to Content
Skip announcement-panel
Summer Hours

NEO is open 7am – 5pm, Monday – Thursday, closed Friday.

announcement panel close button
Skip to main content


The Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College (NEO) Art Program awarded eleven scholarships at the graduating sophomore art exhibit on April 17. Five NEO Foundation Charles Banks Wilson Arts Scholarships were awarded during the event, as well as two Kirsten Couch Art Scholarships, the Calcagno Family Scholarship, and three Miami Arts and Humanities Council Fall Scholarships. “We’re excited to share the artwork of out multi-talented group this spring,” said Art Instructor Jessica Stout. “We have a mix of mediums and styles that truly represents the scope of art education our students receive at NEO.”

Graduating sophomores Colleen Garrett, Jeanette Hughes, Evelyn Miller, and Shariece Tate presented paintings, drawings, sculptures, and costumes as part of the spring show, and Hughes, Tate, and Garrett each received a Foundation Art Program Transfer Scholarship to continue their studies, while Miller has already secured a job. Seeking to continue the tradition of arts education, the family of Charles Banks Wilson established five Charles Banks Wilson scholarships in 2017. This year, the honorees were Kenneth Sweeting for instrumental music, Dulcinea Wenzel for vocal music, Dustin Warner for musical theatre, Angela Curry and Ravyn Whitebird for visual art. Earning the Kirsten Couch Art Scholarship were Madison Renick and Erin Dell, while Meghan Davidson was again selected as the recipient of the Calcagno Family Scholarship.

The Miami Arts and Humanities Council also recognized their fall scholarship recipients, with Colleen Garrett earning the Charles Banks Wilson Visual Art Scholarship, Edison Lewis earning the Willie and Jane Osborn Music Scholarship, and David Battiest earning the Ron Whaley Scholarship for the Humanities. For more information about the various arts programs at NEO, contact Jessica Stout at Jessica.S.Stout@neo.edu or Adam Compton at ACompton@neo.edu.

Back to top