fbpx Skip to Content
Skip announcement-panel
Summer Hours

NEO is open 7am – 5pm, Monday – Thursday, closed Friday.

announcement panel close button
Skip to main content


Officials from the NEO Agriculture Department and rodeo team awarded three scholarships at the Ninth Annual NEO Alumni/Recruiting Rodeo, with a full ride scholarship going to Mason Couch, High Point Winner from Fort Scott, Kan. The rodeo took place on Nov. 17 and hosted hundreds contestants. The day began with long rounds in several events and the top six competitors in the high school and alumni divisions made the short round, which started at 7 p.m. Over 300 riders competed at this year’s rodeo. Alumnus Kory Keeth again served as the announcer for the rodeo. Students in NEO Agriculture programs ran sound, prepared the arena, and operated gates. Mason Couch from Fort Scott, Kan., was the high school high point winner, and NEO Rodeo Coach Kolby Ungeheuer awarded him a two-year full-tuition scholarship. The NEO Development Foundation also provided two $500 book scholarships to Tate Snyder from Green City, Mo. And Ross McGuire from Copan, Okla. “This event is so successful thanks to the NEO staff and administration and their hard work,” said Ungeheuer. “We have so many generous volunteers who not only help keep the rodeo on track, but serve as terrific ambassadors for NEO.” (Photo: Mason Couch received a full ride NEO scholarship from Rodeo Coach Kobly Ungeheuer)

Full Ride Scholarship Winners Mason Couch- Fort Scott, Kan.

Book Scholarship Winners Tate Snyder- Green City, Mo. Ross McGuire- Webbers Falls, Okla. Barrel Racing High School: Tatum Williams – Copan, Okla. Alumni: Jenny Jo Kijac – Jay, Okla. Calf Roping High School: Ross McGuire – Webbers Falls, Okla. Alumni: Quinton Inman – Ketchum, Okla. Breakaway Roping High School: Grace Weddle – Muldrow, Okla. Alumni: Taylor Haskins – Diamond, Mo. Steer Wrestling High School: Mason Couch – Fort Scott, Kan. Alumni: Quinton Inman – Ketchum, Okla. Team Roping High School: Sam Espy (Lone Jack, Mo.) and Tate Snyder (Green City, Mo.) Alumni: Adam Rose (Willard, Mo.) and Tyler Worley (Stephenville, Texas) Goat Tying High School: Jessie Ishmael – Miami, Okla. Alumni: Lauren Brock – Bentonville, Ark. Bareback Riding High School: Jayco Roper – Okatah, Okla. Saddle Bronc Riding High School: Weston Patterson – Waverly, Kan. Bull Riding High School: Chase Birkshire Alumni: Hayden Harris – Hulbert, Okla.

Back to top