fbpx Skip to Content
Skip to main content


Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College’s (NEO) Mu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) inducted the new class into the prestigious international honor society in a ceremony that took place on April 24. The keynote speaker for the evening was Mr. Jeremy Hogan, Superintendent of the Miami Public School System. “Of the four hallmarks of PTK, I encourage you to pay special attention to service,” said Mr. Hogan. “The sole reason I am in education today is to give back and I encourage you to set an example for your peers and give back to your communities.” Mu Chapter was recently recognized as a Distinguished Chapter at the 2018 International Convention, an honor given to the top ten percent of qualifying chapters that submit both an Honors in Action and College Project. PTK currently has over 1250 active chapters. Members also won a Distinguished College Project Award for their campus safety project. During the 2017-2018 academic year, Mu Chapter has also researched human trafficking, partnered with the Sierra Club for Recycling Pledge Day, donated food for the Thanksgiving Food Drive, hosted transfer coordinators from regional universities during chapter meetings, held a Quiz Bowl for high school students in the 4-state region, and hosted a Casino Night benefit for the Community Crisis Center.

To gain admittance into PTK, students must complete at least 12 hours of courses and maintain a 3.5 grade point average. Through their membership in PTK, students will have access to scholarships and service opportunities. Mu Chapter’s 2017-2018 officers were Allison Byrn, President; Hunter Bohn, Scholarship; Clint Howard, Leadership; Brandy Brogdon, Service; Tycia Conner, Fellowship; Christopher Bentley, Recording/Secretary.

Students who were inducted during the ceremony: Karley Bailey Arin Barnes David Battiest Gavin Bohn Tyler Bottorff Kayla Burns Jeffrey Cher-Aime Melanie Coons Jeffrey Crawford Trista Crook Cale Crutchfield Megan Davis Tyon Davis Cagney Effling Stetson Eschenbaum Kassidy Fletcher Katey Freeman Gracie Garman Sarah Harris Mattie Haynes Abigayle Hays Anelizabeth Henry Marley Hensley Samantha House Nicholas Hughlett Hannah Jenkins Nathan Jordan Rebecca Keener Katelyn King Eneritz Larranaga Muguruza Keng Lee Rebecca Lucky Kennedy Martins Sierra McCullough Nathania McKenzie Dillon McKinzie Maggi Medley Jordyn Miller Alexa Montagne Delisa Mowrey Adah Nair John O’Neal Robbie Phillips Hailey Rexwinkle Steven Roberts Sidney Rupert Shannon Schwenke Tyler Silva Bailey Smith Abigail Spindle Taylor Stanley Miranda Thibodeau Sue Tinkey Dulcinea Wenzel Leanne White Makayla Willis Julia Wilson The Mu chapter on the NEO campus is very involved in both campus activities and off-campus events. The chapter was recently acknowledged for successfully maintaining its Five-Star status for several years. The Mu chapter of PTK was the first established outside of Missouri. To learn more about PTK, contact Ms. LaShawna Powers at Lashawna.powers@neo.edu.

(Top photo: Dr. Hale, Dr. Fahnestock, LaShawna Powers, and the PTK officer team welcomed the new inductees at the spring induction.) (Bottom photo, officer team from left: Christopher Bentley, Brandy Brogdon, Clint Howard, Allison Byrn, Tycia Conner, Hunter Bohn, and sponsor LaShawna Powers display the international awards.)

Back to top