fbpx Skip to Content
Skip announcement-panel
Summer Hours

NEO is open 7am – 5pm, Monday – Thursday, closed Friday.

announcement panel close button
Skip to main content


Three Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College students recently received awards at the state capitol for their outstanding academic achievements and leadership.

The Oklahoma Association of Community Colleges hosted award ceremonies for the All-Oklahoma Academic Team Program and the Oklahoma Association of Community Colleges President’s Tuition Waiver Award at the Oklahoma State Capitol.

Nancy Jaime and Elijah Atkins, pictured with NEO President Dr. Kyle J. Stafford, represented NEO and were named to the 2023 All-Oklahoma Academic Team.

The All-Oklahoma Academic Team Program provides statewide recognition to outstanding two-year college students. Nominees must be eligible to graduate during the 2023 academic year and hold a minimum of a 3.5 cumulative grade point average on all college-level coursework completed in the past five years.

Jaime is an English major from Miami, Oklahoma. She is a first-generation college student. She is a member of the Honors Program, Vice President of Scholarship for the Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, Student Body Government treasurer, and she works at the NEO Bookstore.

Atkins is an English and social sciences major from Kotzebue, Alaska. He is a member of the NEO Honors Program, American Indian Center for Excellence, the Baptist Collegiate Ministry, and a NEO Gold Mentor. Elijah plans to teach in the future, hoping to better the world through education.

Oklahoma is one of 39 states participating in the All-USA Academic Team Program. The State Academic Teams were introduced in 1994 to provide scholastic recognition to community college students while promoting excellence at two-year colleges.

The Oklahoma Association of Community Colleges President’s Tuition Waiver Award is chosen by presidents of community colleges across the state. Nominees are selected from among graduating high school seniors and community college students for their outstanding academic achievement, classroom record, and leadership ability.

Students receive a $1,000 waiver applied to tuition for the upcoming 2023-2024 academic year at $500 per semester.

The recipient of this award was Elijah Wooden. Wooden is a sophomore from Muskogee, Oklahoma, majoring in business administration with a management information systems concentration. He is a proud member of the NEO marching band, an officer for the Professional Business Leaders club, and a NEO Student Ambassador. He was also recognized on the President’s Honor Roll and as a Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society member.

“Each of these students has excelled in many different areas at NEO,” said NEO Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Dustin Grover.

Grover expressed his appreciation to the Oklahoma Association of Community Colleges for their leadership in acknowledging students in Oklahoma.

Pictured above, Senator Micheal Bergstrom and Chancellor Allison Garrett with Elijah Wooden and President Stafford on March 28, 2023, at the Oklahoma State Capitol for the OACC awards.

For more information, please contact Sam Hoover with Academic Affairs at sam.hoover10@neo.edu or 918-540-6203.

Back to top