fbpx Skip to Content
Skip announcement-panel
Summer Hours

NEO is open 7am – 5pm, Monday – Thursday, closed Friday.

announcement panel close button
Skip to main content


Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College’s (NEO)- Mu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) inducted a new class into the prestigious international honor society. The ceremony took place November 15. To gain admittance into PTK, students must complete at least 12 hours of courses and maintain a 3.5 grade point average. Through their membership in PTK, students will have access to scholarships and service opportunities.  

Students who accepted membership: Hannah Blankenship, Gunnar Bradley, Kylin Burtrum, Honesty Earp, Dayton Fields, Shaelea Finney, Amber Goodman, Haley Hart, Nevaeh Hillestad, Zoe Kovak, Olivia McGuire, Amy Montoya, Mia Moss, Jaron Parmley, Rachel Rife, Gage Shetley, Austyn Simpson, Goldie Snow, Emma Speer, Kaylea Taylor, Cade Ward, Price Ward, Rebecca Wright, Avery Brannon, Odalys Castillo, Melissia Fisher, Lorri Green, Emely Hernandez, Alaniss Marin, Kayla Sharbutt, Andrea Smith and Taylor Welch.  

Mu Chapter also recognized its new officers: Sabrina Mott-Jenkins and Cherokee Sacks.   “Phi Theta Kappa provides opportunities for students to develop as scholars and as leaders. Our members embody the Norse tradition through their perseverance, community engagement and service,” said Lashawna Powers, Social Science Instructor and PTK Advisor.   Mu Chapter has worked as virtual volunteers for the Community Crisis Center, gathering supplies for their facilities and painting care rocks for the children. Chapter members are currently volunteering for Power Hour with the Ottawa County Boys and Girls Club, have gathered donations for Thanksgiving dinner boxes, and dipped caramel apples at the NEO Fall Festival.   The chapter also conducted research on the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic on student mental health outcomes and it was recognized at the Phi Theta Kappa international convention.   To learn more about PTK, contact Ms. LaShawna Powers at Lashawna.powers@neo.edu.   

Back to top