fbpx Skip to Content
Skip announcement-panel
Summer Hours

NEO is open 7am – 5pm, Monday – Thursday, closed Friday.

announcement panel close button
Skip to main content


Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College’s (NEO), Mu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) inducted another record number of students for the fall semester — 41 new members were inducted into the prestigious international honor society. The ceremony took place last month. The keynote speaker for the evening was Candy Watson, former PTK president.    Watson’s contributions to Phi Theta Kappa included her integral part in implementing the now-semester tradition of Food-4-Finals, a PTK college project that won international recognition in 2011. Watson spoke about the benefits of being an active member and fitting it all into the college experience.

To gain admittance into PTK, which is an international honor society, students must complete at least 12 hours of courses and maintain a 3.5 grade point average. Through their membership in PTK, students will have access to scholarships and service opportunities. “Phi Theta Kappa is more than just an honor society. We take pride in upholding the four hallmarks of PTK: scholarship, leadership, fellowship, and service,” said Shannon Sample, PTK co-sponsor. “We are nationally recognized as a five-star rated chapter and are proud to represent NEO A&M’s finest students.”

The Mu chapter on the NEO campus is very active and has again volunteered to help with the Ottawa County Angel Tree Project. They also are committed to serve the campus by providing student manpower to clean up after football games held at the NEO stadium. They collect used books for Better World Books, a nonprofit organization that sends textbooks to Africa. PTK sponsors the Food-4-Finals event, a tutoring session and breakfast held every semester during finals week to provide instructor/student interaction as students prepare for final exams. They recently hosted a Quiz Bowl tournament for area high schools. PTK students are currently working on their college and honor’s project that involves creating awareness on the NEO campus of the Miami downtown area and working in conjunction with the City of Miami officials to make this happen.

Students who were inducted into PTK include: Janell Beauchamp Joplin Mo. Paize Blaylock Fairland Okla. Jennifer Crane Merriam Kan. Shairee Eads Grove Okla. Justin Eskew Grove Okla. Sherry Ford Monkey Island Okla. Lauren Gann Miami Okla. Karlee Gibson Fairland Okla. Callie Goodwin Miami Okla. Jason Hardee Miami Okla. Shanna Horton Miami Okla. Darian Huff Colcord Okla. Belinda Hunt Vinita Okla. Joshua Hurley Wyandotte Okla. Taylor Isley Miami Okla. Hayley Jamil Miami Okla. Joy Johnson Grove Okla. Twyla King Afton Okla. Jacey Knight Commerce Okla. Megan Larue Miami Okla. Krystal Law Jay Okla. Tarrin Lawson Monkey Island Okla. Jade Manning Miami Okla. Matthew Mayden Miami Okla. Charles Mcquigg Miami Okla. Alexia Mercer Welch Okla. Rhonda Nielsen Miami Okla. Catherine Olivarez Afton Okla. Carla Reynard Quapaw Okla. Nicole Roland Miami Okla. Robynn Rulo Miami Okla. Paula Schultz Carthage Okla. Michele Sisneros Miami Okla. Sheng Thao Fairland Okla. Jerrica Trease Commerce Okla. Jennifer Venters Eucha Okla. Kerysha White Grove Okla. Kelsey Williams Commerce Okla. Terry Williams Vinita Okla. Taylor Wilson Wyandotte Okla. Jaala Winslow Fairland Okla.

Back to top