fbpx Skip to Content
Skip announcement-panel
Summer Hours

NEO is open 7am – 5pm, Monday – Thursday, closed Friday.

announcement panel close button
Skip to main content

Representative James Mabon, a representative in the fourth through the ninth Oklahoma legislatures, petitioned the state’s government to establish a college dedicated to the study of mining and metals to improve the development of Oklahoma’s mining industry. Mabon joined with Senator J. J. Smith of Miami to craft Senate Bill No. 225, which passed on March 17, 1919, officially establishing the Miami School of Mines, which later became NEO A&M College.

In honor of Representative Mabon and Senator Smith, NEO selects the Mabon Award each year in coordination with Founders’ Day. This contest will provide up to $2,000 toward an on-campus improvement project submitted by a student, faculty, staff, or campus group.

Use the form below to submit your proposal. If your project is chosen to receive funding, the NEO Development Foundation will provide up to $2,000. All funding must be used within 12 months of your project being chosen. Applications are due by March 1.

Will there be matching funds for this project?

Itemized Expenses

Back to top